Who We Are

History

The AIDS Institute (TAI) began as a grass roots community mobilization effort in the mid 1980s. In 1992, this advocacy network became incorporated as a 501(c) 3 nonprofit organization. Over the years, The AIDS Institute has expanded its vision to become a leading national nonprofit AIDS agency with offices in Tampa, Florida and Washington, DC. Affiliated with the Division of Infectious Diseases and International Medicine at the University of South Florida College of Medicine, The AIDS Institute remains focused on HIV/AIDS while incorporating work on related healthcare issues, including Hepatitis.

Board of Directors and Advisory Board Members (Listed Alphabetically)

Board of Directors

Gregg Alton - Atherton, CA

Jonathon David Berliner, Secretary - Honolulu, HI

Helena Kwakwa, M.D. - Philadelphia, PA

Marylin Merida, President - Tampa, FL

Valerie Mincey, Treasurer - Panama City, FL

Peter L. Ralin, At Large Member - Denver, CO

David A. Reznik, D.D.S. , Vice President - Atlanta, GA

William Schuyler - Alexandria, VA

Board Advisors

Ex-Officio Member: Michael Ruppal, Executive Director - Tampa, FL
Deloris Dockrey - New Brunswick, NJ
Dr. David Holtgrave - Baltimore, MD
Jeanne White-Ginder - Leesburg, FL
 

Staff (Listed Alphabetically)

 

Terrence Calhoun, Director of Conferences and Regional Trainings, 202-835-8373, TCalhoun@TheAIDSInstitute.org

Spencer Lieb, HIV/AIDS Research Coordinator, 850-329-7021, SLieb@TheAIDSInstitute.org

Denise Ruppal, Director of Finance and Administration, 813-258-5929, DRuppal@TheAIDSInstitute.org

Michael Ruppal, Executive Director, 813-258-5929, MRuppal@TheAIDSInstitute.org

Michelle Scavnicky, Director of Education and CBA Services, 813-258-5929, MScavnicky@TheAIDSInstitute.org

Carl Schmid, Deputy Executive Director, 202-835-8373, CSchmid@TheAIDSInstitute.org

Lisa Stand, Senior Policy Associate, 202-835-8373, LStand@TheAIDSInstitute.org

Ivy Turnbull, Deputy Executive Director, AIDS Alliance, 202-835-8373, ITurnbull@TheAIDSInstitute.org

Bridget Verrette, Policy Associate, 202-835-8373, BVerrette@TheAIDSInstitute.org

VACANT, Communications Coordinator, 813-258-5929 ext. 3, Media@TheAIDSInstitute.org

 

Staff Photos

Terrance

Terrence Calhoun

 

Spencer Lieb
 

Denise

Denise Ruppal

Michael Ruppal

 

Michelle Scavnicky

 

Carl Schmid

 

Ivy Turnbull

 

Bridget Verrette

Syndicate content